The 75th Gallatin Banquet Hands Out Awards For Top High School Basketball Players On Sunday Night.

Photo Taken By: Dan Cruz

ALTON – Tonight was the 75th annual Gallatin Players of the Year Banquet which recognizes girls and boys high school basketball players from Alton, Marquette Catholic, Civic Memorial, East Alton-Wood River, and Roxana. The event was held at the Best Western Premier in Alton.

The banquet started in 1946 and it was called the Alton Exchange Club Banquet then in 2018 due to budget issues a new group took it over and changed the name to the Gallatin Players of the Year Banquet after the late Harry Gallatin. Fifteen past winners were present for the banquette tonight.

They were: 1967 Ricci Stotler (CM), 1978 David Goins (Alton), 1990 Kevin Caldwell (Alton), 1994 Eric Frankford (CM) and Amie Gernigan (Marquette Catholic), 1996 Nic Stotler (CM), and Angela Payne (Roxana), 2000 Michelle Beiermann (Marquette), 2001 Ashley Russell (EAWR), 2003 Jordan Davis (Roxana), 2004,2005 Emily Best (EAWR), 2006,2007 Kavon Lacey (Alton), 2011 Cassie Endicott (CM), 2013,2014 Megan Trost (CM), 2015,2016,2017 Allie Troeckler (CM).

The Gallatin Banquet was named after basketball legend Harry Gallati. Gallatin grew up in Wood River and graduated from Roxana High School in 1944. Following a standout prep career, he was a standout college player at Northeast Missouri State, now Truman State in Kirksville, MO. Gallatin played 10 years in the NBA, from 1948-1958 and spent the first nine years with the New York Knicks. Gallatin led the NBA in rebounding during the 1954 season when he averaged 15.3 rebounds per game and earned a spot on the All-Star team. Gallatin was a seven-time All Star.

After the NBA Gallatin began coaching at SIUC where he complied a 69-35 record. He started the SUIE basketball program in 1967-68 and was the director of athletics and assistant dean of students. He retired in 1992. One year before his retirement, Gallatin was selected to the Naismith Hall of Fame. Gallatin is also a member of 10 other Hall of Fames.

The key-note speaker was Alton Mayor and past winner David Goins, The Alton High School Center starred for the Redbirds during the 1976-77 and 1977-78 seasons when they captured regional championships. Then he was named the Alton Exchange Club Player of the Year following his senior season. Goins went on to play basketball in college then became a Alton police officer, then as a pastor, then mayor of Alton.

The Special Service Award went to Cathy Snipes, The Girls Sportsmanship Award went to the CM Lady Eagles ad the Boys went to EAWR. The Girls Free Thow Award went to Kiyoko Proctor of Alton and the Boys went to Parker Macias of Marquette.

The Boys 110 Percent Finalist Were:

Ihazel Brown (Alton)

Dalton Buhs (CM)

Jakob Gerber (EAWR)

Parker Macias (Marquette)

Winner: Evan Wells ( Roxana)

The Girls 110 Percent Finalist Were:

Jarius Powers (Alton)

Aubree Wallace (CM)

Ocean Bland (EAWR)

Kinsley Mouser (Roxana)

Winner: Abby Williams (Marquette)

Boys MVP Finalist Were:

Adrian Elliott (Alton)

Sam Buckley (CM)

Seth Slayden (EAWR)

Aidan Briggs (Roxana)

Winner: Owen Williams (Marquette)

Girls MVP Finalist Were:

Kiyoko Proctor (Alton)

Emily Johnson (EAWR)

Chloe White (Marquette)

Lexi Ryan (Roxana)

Winner: Kelbie Zupan (CM)

” It was a great feeling to have my name to make the list of all the great players on that list. It was a great year at Marquette with a Regional title, I think we could of won Sectional but it didn’t go our way. ” MVP Boys Winner Owen Williams said

” This was defiantly a big accomplishment something I never really thought about winning, but it’s really an honor to win this. This season was really special, and we went out with a bang. There wasn’t much talk about state before the season but if it comes it comes and we made it to state”. MVP Girls Winner Kelbie Zupan said.

Previous Players of the Year award winners include:

2022 – Owen Williams of Marquette and Kelbie Zupan of CM

2021 — Ja’Markus Gary of Alton and Tori Standefer of CM

2020 — Gavin Huffman of Roxana and Anna Hall of CM

2019 — Donovan Clay of Alton and Anna Hall of CM

2018 — Sammy Green of Marquette Catholic and Kaylee Eaton of CM

2017 – Maurice Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM

2016 – Shandon Boone of Marquette Catholic and Allie Troeckler of CM

2015 – Darrius Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM

2014 – Deion Lavender of Marquette Catholic and Megan Trost of CM

2013 — Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megan Trost of CM

2012 — Hunter Reine of Roxana and Megkinize Carter of CM

2011 — Tony Bradley of Alton and Cassie Endicott of CM

2010 — Tony Bradley of Alton and Kelsey Harrison of EA-WR

2009 — Ryan Mathews of Alton and Michaela Herrod of Alton

2008 —Ruben Cotto of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM

2007 — Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM

2006 — Kavon Lacey of Alton and Katie Broadway of CM

2005 — Lorenzo Taylor of Alton and Emily Best of EA-WR

2004 — Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Emily Best of EA-WR

2003 — Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic and Jordan Davis of Roxana

2002 — Travis Williams of EA-WR and Casey Law of CM

2001 — Michael Stockard of Alton and Ashley Russell of EA-WR

2000 — Demarko “Book” Snipes of Alton and Michelle Beiermann of Marquette Catholic

1999 — Demarko “Book” Snipes of Alton and Kendra Snyder of Marquette Catholic

1998 — Tony Certa of Marquette Catholic and DoBee Oros-Moore of Alton

1997 — Marlon Crawford of Alton and Jenni Combes of CM

1996 — Nic Stotler of CM and Angela Payne of Roxana

1995 — Greg McDanel of Roxana and Erica Oge of Marquette Catholic

1994 — Eric Frankford of CM and Amie Gernigan of Marquette Catholic

1993 – Ty Laux of CM

1992 – Brad Bohannon of Marquette Catholic

1991 – Jonathan Denney of CM

1990 – Kevin Caldwell of Alton

1989 – Joe Vann of Alton

1988 – Steve Mason of Marquette Catholic

1987 – Jamie Humphries of CM

1986 – Larry Smith of Alton

1985 – Larry Smith of Alton

1984 – Dale Liley of EA-WR

1983 – Rick Taylor of Alton

1982 – Steve Wooley of EA-WR

1981 – Dan Coddington of EA-WR

1980 – Troy Washpun of Alton

1979 – Jim “Buzz” Logan of EA-WR

1978 – David Goins of Alton

1977 – Brad Scheiter of Alton

1976 – Leroy Stampley of Alton

1975 – Chris Schroeder of Roxana

1974 – Doug Nalley of Alton

1973 – Lafayette Collins of Alton

1972 – Dennis Olston of EA-WR

1971 – Ron Caldwell of Alton

1970 – Dave Taynor of CM

1969 – Mike Jeffries of Alton

1968 – Leon Huff of Alton

1967 – Ricci Stotler of CM

1966 – Jim Bailey of EA-WR

1965 – Terry Brown of EA-WR

1964 – Larry Jeffries of Alton

1963 – Bob Hilgendorf of CM

1962 – Larry Shoemaker of Alton

1961 – Gary Lane of EA-WR

1960 – Karl Doucleff of Western Military Academy

1959 – Jerry Messick of EA-WR

1958 – Mike Hunter of Alton

1957 – Jim Lemon of EA-WR

1956 – Cliff Talley of EA-WR

1955 – Essic Robinson of Alton

1954 -Richard Brown of Roxana

1953 – Dick Harbke of Roxana

1952 – Ron Fisher of EA-WR

1951 – Bob Kuhn of Alton

1950 – Lowell Pettit of EA-WR

1949 – Ron Bedwell of Roxana

1948 – Sam Vinyard of EA-WR

1947 – Bob Caffery of EA-WR

1946 – Dick Erzen of EA-WR

Chris Rhodes
Author: Chris Rhodes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *